Driving in New Jersey is a big tough task because violation of Traffic rules knowingly or unknowingly will impose fine. The saddest part is not everyone knows the rules laid by the New Jersey Transport department. You may be the citizen of the country or not but following traffic rules is the first and foremost thing to be kept in mind when you are driving. Here is the list of Traffic Rules laid by New Jersey road department, do follow them without fail.
Traffic Rules of New Jersey
- One should learn how to stay right and leave the left lane for other drivers to pass the vehicles on the road. You can cross other cars by moving left and get back to your right again.
- Never stop in the middle of E-Z Pass Booth because the vehicles behind will stuck or cause an accident. If you want to grab your E-Z pass, get it at the toll booth only. At the toll plaza, do pick up your scanner card and then it will be read without any issues.
- One has to slow down at Amber Light because it is a sign that light turns red. But drivers do assume it as “get out of the signal before it turns red” and cross the Amber light before it shows stop. You may not know when the right view will display after Amber light, so do wait for the red light to pass.
- Don’t drive while you are speaking on the phone because it is the primary reason behind accidents. Follow you and your family safety, drop your phone before starting to drive. The time taken to reach your destination will be more when you busy talking to someone on the phone than driving free.
- One should Ease up on the horn because it can cause disturbance to others than getting the traffic cleared. It is common to stay in the traffic for so long, but it is not the mistake of anyone to ease the horn continuously. Remember that no one likes to stay on the road wanted, so just wait till the traffic to clear.
- Always use turn signal to let the fellow drivers understand that you are going to take a turn. The driver behind you will follow your path, slow down and make possible changes to his passage. If you don’t give a sign that you are turning, they may come behind with the same speed and accidents may occur when you suddenly take a turn.
Any driver who wants to ride their vehicle on New Jersey roads should have a License card. If you are from another state, do get it by 60 days of being a resident in New Jersey. Al the drivers and passengers in the car should put their seat for a safe ride. Children under 8 years should have a rear-facing safety seat with a 5-point harness in it. If a driver is passing behind the school bus, he/ she needs to maintain 25 feet distance from the bus to avoid accidents.
Anyone who fails to reach the traffic rules laid by the Transport Department of New Jersey should pay the fine ticket imposed on your vehicle. If you are younger than 21 years and caught by a cop while driving with a BAC of 0.01% or more, you need to face these situations. Your license will be suspended for 90 days or less, have to do community service for 30 days or less, should participate in Alcohol Education and Highway safety program, pay Traffic fines at the NJMCDirect portal. Be cautious while driving on New Jersey road and do follow the traffic rules aid by the Government.